Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman

coleman2

                                             Michael C. Hebert/New Orleans Saints

Deuce Windham

NFC  South Staff Writer

The past week has been an exciting one for fans across the NFL. One factor that always seems to slips our minds is how excited the young guys entering the league are. Brandon Coleman, who has gotten a lot of attention both here at TSR and abroad in Saints news sources, is one of those players. Coleman was originally rated as a 3rd to 4th round talent who saw his stock fall with concerns about past knee injuries. We won’t go too much into Coleman’s actual playstyle and abilities in this article, that was covered earlier this week by Justin Clifton, our resident Saints’ analyst here at TSR. If you would like to see some film breakdowns of Brandon’s college film, head over here.

This past week, I had the opportunity to talk to Brandon Coleman and ask him a few questions about joining the Saints, how he is feeling and what it has been like to make it to the NFL. The interview was discussed last night on Who Dat Confessional (Click here to listen/download last night’s episode) and I promised everyone a hard copy they could read for themselves. I encourage everyone, if you haven’t been able to tune into WDC the past couple of weeks make sure you listen and call-in for the next episode on Monday. 7pm-9pm CST every Monday night! A big thank you goes out to Brandon for taking time out of his week (which was spent training with the Saints) to talk with us. This is a young player Saints fans can’t stop talking about, and for good reason.

Deuce: First, thank you for taking the time to take part in this interview Brandon. Secondly, I’m not sure how much you keep up with social media, but Who Dat Nation is extremely excited about your signing as an UDFA. What have the fan reactions, that you’ve seen, to your signing been like?
Brandon: I haven’t had a chance to get fans reactions partially because I’m not on social media yet, but will be back on it soon.

Deuce: The biggest concern teams had was with your knee. How do you feel? Are you 100%? Are you stronger now than you were before?
Brandon: I feel 100% and I am stronger than I was before (the injury).

Deuce: One of the biggest tools of any wide receiver is their knowledge of the route tree. How complete would you say yours is? Are there any routes specifically you need to work on/learn?
Brandon: I have an overall solid understanding of the (NFL) route tree. I need to work on my transitions in and out of the top of a few routes.

Deuce: How good do you feel you are against press man coverage? Teams the Saints have struggled with (like the Seahawks) implement this in their defensive schemes. How do you match up?
Brandon: I feel I have a physical advantage against press coverage.

Deuce: Some fans are already calling you the future replacement for Marques Colston. Hows that make you feel?
Brandon: Those are big shoes to fill, not only is he a great player on the field with his production but he is even a better person. I’m up for the challenge (of living up to his name).

Deuce: What will it be like to catch passes from a Hall of Fame caliber quarterback like Drew Brees?
Brandon: It will be awhile before I get reps with the ones, but it will be an experience that I will have forever.

Deuce: Right now, the Saints have an abundance of WRs, what do you have that will set you apart?
Brandon: The current group is very versatile and dynamic. I have to use my God given abilities to my advantage and be confident in my abilities that I can help this group and team.

Deuce: What made you choose the Saints to sign with as an UDFA? Was it the quality of the team and their Superbowl chances?
Brandon: The Saints are definitely a first class organization and I took a visit down here before the draft as well. They have a high rate of signing UDFAs and them actually making an impact. The playbook is very similar to what I have been accustomed to in college.

Deuce: You have the big body style to be the Saints’ future “X” receiver. Do you like playing on the line, even though it is more physical than other WR positions?
Brandon: I’m comfortable lining up anywhere on the field.

Deuce: Last question, thank you again for giving me this time. What has been the most exciting part of the pre-draft/post-draft process?
Brandon: Actually just getting an opportunity to continue playing at the highest level. Im thankful for the Saints organization for providing that for me. Its up to me now to make the most out of it.

Some of the initial impressions Brandon left me with were that not only is he playing with a  chip on his shoulder, but he is still a very humble football player. Several of his responses stood out to me during our conversation. I liked his confidence in himself when he said he feels he actually has the advantage over DBs in press coverage, and as a Saints fan how can I not approve of the respect he shows one of the greatest Saints in our history in Marques Colston. Brandon seems very team oriented, and while he is extremely confident in his own abilities he also shows the proper respect to the game and his peers.

This week Brandon took part in the Saints rookie minicamp/3 day tryout and I feel he did fairly well. Sean Payton seemed to echo this sentiment saying, “He is a big target,” Payton said. “He has been very productive and there are just some little things that we are working on with him just in regards with his transition, but he has picked things up well.” The road is still long for Brandon and his chances of making a NFL roster, but if he stays determined and continues to impress the Saints coaching staff, the sky could be the limit for this young stud from Rutgers.

Thanks for reading everyone. As always, feel free to leave your comments, critiques and all around banter! God bless!

75 Comments

  1. Barry Hirstius

    May 20, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    Well done, Walter — OUTSTANDING job!!!!!

  2. Devin Velazquez

    May 20, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    love the fact that he’s not on social media….just focus make the team and be our future as well as our present. Good dude. Can’t wait to see him play in this offense. I see him and Cooks both making a solid impact this year. I think it will be hard not to give him a roster spot if he continues to impress as he has. I’ve said this before but I feel like the Saints are rebuilding the Original offensive talent pool with new and in some cases, better pieces. Cooks is our new Henderson but with better hands and more elusivity and speed and toughness and route tree knowledge. Stills fills that Meachem role but again has possibly better speed and hands and route understanding. Coleman is a Colston type but bigger, and faster. Colston’s hands are 2nd to virtually none so its too early yet to see if Coleman will be as reliable in the clutch but he has good hands and is a physical go getter for the ball. Thomas is still running strong but now Khiry Robinson gives us that Mike Bell like pop in relief but can catch as well. If our Offensive line can get sorted out we really have a beautiful thing building here going into the final few years of the Brees era.

  3. JoeBlake

    May 21, 2014 at 3:57 am

    Good P/u by the Saints. This guy is definitely a keeper.

  4. Deuce Windham

    May 21, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks Barry! :)

  5. Nigel Arredondo

    July 12, 2014 at 10:55 am

    Did the Jonathan Ames letter come yet? I signed up in January and that i really genuinely hope I didn’t miss it. Is there a way I’m able to read it if it did already come?

  6. traducere romana portugheza

    July 15, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Lang Ping said yesterday: “I feel very proud, and have the determination and confidence to do)Shenyang Zhongze football team set sail marshal Li Jinyu as coach the reporter learned yesterday, Liaoning Zhongze group recently completed the acquisition of Shenyang Shenbei Football Club 100% equity

  7. traduceri romana slovena

    July 15, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    That Belichick, One overcome because of starting to be this eighth football trainer who has 200 advantages, Will have something awake michael’s hoodie. As he really absolutely. Gronkowski and it could be nope Gronkowski, Each Patriots still need Brady, Don’t forget, And so much anybody found when it comes to modern britain in order to be able for you to help look self assured..

  8. cheap backlinks

    July 18, 2014 at 2:17 pm

    S97J1p Very neat article post. Much obliged.

  9. high quality backlinks

    July 19, 2014 at 6:03 am

    5Rfxvi Thanks-a-mundo for the blog. Keep writing.

  10. our homepage

    July 20, 2014 at 7:07 am

    best hermes replica handbags Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  11. click the next internet site

    July 20, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    buy fake hermes bag online Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  12. Cecille Thane

    July 23, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    When could it be the perfect time to purchase a new laptop or computer?. . Some individuals I’ve talked to advised me its fantastic to get a new computer every single 2 years even so which could be highly-priced for the majority of

  13. traffic

    July 24, 2014 at 4:59 am

    Very neat article.Thanks Again. Much obliged.

  14. bitcoins

    July 24, 2014 at 5:07 am

    Looking forward to reading more. Great article.Really thank you! Great.

  15. Education

    July 24, 2014 at 6:12 am

    Really appreciate you sharing this blog post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  16. on the market

    July 24, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Major thanks for the article post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  17. Web Filter

    July 24, 2014 at 7:18 am

    This is one awesome article.Thanks Again. Awesome.

  18. vps hosting

    July 24, 2014 at 9:16 am

    I truly appreciate this blog article. Will read on…

  19. M88

    July 25, 2014 at 12:12 am

    wow, awesome blog post.Much thanks again. Keep writing.

  20. Paris Offshore

    July 25, 2014 at 3:14 am

    Very neat blog article.Much thanks again. Want more.

  21. simply click the next site

    July 25, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    e-cigs Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  22. dryer cleaning houston

    July 25, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    add me to your facebook good friends . I’ll send you an invite facebook.com/abhishek2u

  23. Bill

    July 25, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    This is a different way of seeing things.

  24. Woodrow Casas

    July 26, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Wow! Thank you! I continuously wanted to write on my site something like that. Can I implement a portion of your post to my website?

  25. official website

    July 26, 2014 at 1:25 am

    e-cigarette reviews Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  26. latest celeb fashion

    July 26, 2014 at 5:21 am

    Say, you got a nice blog article.Thanks Again. Great.

  27. portefeuilles hermes

    July 26, 2014 at 6:25 am

    I really enjoy the blog post.Much thanks again. Fantastic.

  28. you could check here

    July 26, 2014 at 6:52 am

    vaporizer review Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  29. العاب طبخ

    July 26, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Major thankies for the article post.Much thanks again.

  30. Sermorelin

    July 26, 2014 at 7:35 am

    Thanks again for the post.Thanks Again. Cool.

  31. Easy Online Money Making

    July 26, 2014 at 9:48 am

    Looking forward to reading more. Great blog post.Thanks Again. Will read on…

  32. Allena Foo

    July 26, 2014 at 10:36 am

    Hello!Others have voiced my confusion above, but it’s nice sometimes to add for the melee. I’ve been signed up since the middle of January, but have three letters. They’re good letters! But similarly, I’d like to know if this is just the process with the dust settling or if this is to be expected?Thanks!

  33. Online Free Game

    July 26, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    Great article post.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  34. great website

    July 26, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you should publish more about this subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but generally people do not speak about such topics. To the next! All the best!!

  35. search engine optimization companies

    July 26, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    Thanks so much for the post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  36. tennis

    July 26, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Im obliged for the article.Thanks Again. Want more.

  37. pet carriers

    July 26, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    As I web site possessor I believe the content matter here is rattling wonderful , appreciate it for your hard work. You should keep it up forever! Good Luck.

  38. bali cruise

    July 26, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    Awesome article post. Really Cool.

  39. deals

    July 27, 2014 at 12:17 am

    I really enjoy the post. Keep writing.

  40. Click In this article

    July 27, 2014 at 12:32 am

    liquid cigarette Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  41. Earn Money At Home Online

    July 27, 2014 at 3:10 am

    Im grateful for the article.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

  42. Hugo Dylla

    July 27, 2014 at 5:49 am

    what is data analytics

  43. cheap fake louis vuitton bags

    July 28, 2014 at 12:05 am

    as described! fast shipping

  44. KnowRoaming

    July 28, 2014 at 9:41 am

    Say, you got a nice article.Much thanks again. Really Great.

  45. Really informative blog. Fantastic.

  46. muzzles petsmart

    July 28, 2014 at 10:46 am

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

  47. Dr. Oz

    July 28, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    Im obliged for the blog article.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  48. available here

    July 28, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    Very neat post.Much thanks again. Really Cool.

  49. Emergency home care

    July 28, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    Major thankies for the article.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on…

  50. wheel refinishing

    July 28, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    A big thank you for your blog post. Awesome.

  51. outdoor

    July 28, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    Im thankful for the article post.Really thank you! Keep writing.

  52. read this blog

    July 28, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    you have for you to to clearly find an individual’s objective purchasers for this purpose particular promo. It is polo ralph lauren for men about the account there presently exists numerous tailor made polo tee shirts that will prevails available so because of this unless you possess distinct industry in view, it will be a hardship on you to ultimately narrow down your choices.

  53. Content

    July 28, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    Hermes bracelet clic clac h Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  54. New York Collages Ranking

    July 29, 2014 at 7:29 am

    I appreciate you sharing this post. Keep writing.

  55. Simply click the next document

    July 29, 2014 at 11:25 am

    Hermes bag price list in malaysia Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  56. losing weight

    July 29, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Good day! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  57. How To Detect A Fake Hermes Bag

    July 29, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Buy hermes bag in paris Saints week in review: Interview with WR, Brandon Coleman – TopSportsReport

  58. marc by marc jacobs outlet online store

    July 31, 2014 at 2:28 am

    http://www.birdietarget.com/ cheap marc jacobs outlet online store !!!

  59. OpbfDcPgxHdA

    July 31, 2014 at 2:42 am

    686368 460592Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I

  60. maps of South West uk

    July 31, 2014 at 4:09 am

    Appreciate you sharing, great blog post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  61. pay for opinion

    July 31, 2014 at 5:22 am

    Im grateful for the post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  62. movies 2014

    July 31, 2014 at 5:31 am

    Thank you for your blog.Thanks Again.

  63. cancer cure

    July 31, 2014 at 6:56 am

    I value the blog article.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  64. descargar juegos android gratis

    July 31, 2014 at 8:17 am

    wow, awesome article.Much thanks again.

  65. iphone screen repair liverpool

    July 31, 2014 at 8:21 am

    Wow, great article. Want more.

  66. seo tips

    July 31, 2014 at 10:56 am

    I appreciate you sharing this blog.Thanks Again. Cool.

  67. 3D Animation Design

    July 31, 2014 at 11:02 am

    Im grateful for the article.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

  68. Brother Printer Install

    July 31, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    Great, thanks for sharing this blog article.Really thank you!

  69. certified used cars

    July 31, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    Muchos Gracias for your post.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  70. best commercial real estate blog

    July 31, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    Major thanks for the article post.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

  71. women's fashion blog

    July 31, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    I think this is a real great article post.Really thank you! Really Great.

  72. jadwal offline bca

    July 31, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    I value the article post.Thanks Again. Will read on…

  73. Google

    July 31, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    That would be the finish of this article. Here you will uncover some web-sites that we feel you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>