Patrick Kane Should Win the Hart Trophy No Matter What

On June 22nd the 2016 NHL Awards will take place in Las Vegas, hosted by actor Will Arnett.

The Hart Memorial Trophy for the most valuable player and awards for outstanding goaltender, outstanding defenseman, and outstanding rookie, along with most outstanding coach & GM among others.

The Hart Memorial Trophy was originally known as the ‘Hart Trophy’ is awarded annually to the “player judged most valuable to his team” in the National Hockey League. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season.

The three 2016 Hart Memorial Trophy finalist this year are Patrick Kane (Chicago), Jamie Benn (Dallas), and Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh). And as the headline says, Kane should win.

On the ice, Kane has the best season of his career, making him a heavy favorite to win the award. The last Chicago Blackhawk(s) to win the award was Stan Mikita, he did it in back-to-back years in 1967-68. Bobby Hull won it the prior two years in 1965-66.

Kane is also a finalist for the Ted Lindsey Award for the most outstanding player, voted on by his peers, the players.

Kane had 46 goals & 60 assist for 106 points, breaking all career highs he set in 2009-10. He became the first American-born player to win the scoring title, playing in all 82 regular season games as well. Kane combined with rookie Artemi Panarin and center Artem Anisimov to form the leagues most forceful trio. The line carried the Hawks offence for nearly the entire season.

Panarin, 24 years old, is a Calder Trophy nominee was the left wing on the Kane line reaching the 30 goal plateau 47 assist & 77 points during his 80 regular season games.

Anisimov signed a 5 year/ $22.75 million deal after being acquired from Columbus in the offseason for Brandon Saad. Anisimov totals ended with 20 goals & 22 assist, effective enough to contribute to the Kane line with 42 points.

The Chicago Blackhawks scored 234 goals for in 2015-16 and Kanes line accounted for 96 of them. That is 41%. Nearly 50% of the offense was scored by the Blackhawks second line.

Patrick Kane should be unanimous for the Hart Memorial Trophy.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply